19.1.08

and they're off!

no more deadlines for the time being... applications have been sent off... i finally bought myself a proper yoga mat and i've succumbed to nescafe coffee... what's a girl to worry about now?

12.1.08

I love it..I hate it.

So I'm back from Budapest. The drive from the airport made me feel like I was entering a Russian ghetto, but as soon as we got into the city and the cab driver figured out where we were going (GPS is golden) it turned out to be one of the prettiest cities I've ever been to. NYE was spent drinking bubbly and trying not to fall on ice in heels, going to a pop-punk-indie show with Hungarian HC kids, and hanging out with my MTL people til 5 AM. It was glorious.

We spent the rest of the week drinking vodka, going to spas and exploring cave churches, all while keeping an eye out for signs of the Soviet stronghold. Apparently walking around markets asking for "Commie paraphernalia" isn't a good look.

Seeing the girls definitely got me thinking about a lot of things, namely what I'm doing here in France, what I plan to do next year, and how I can make this experience work to my full advantage. I know that teaching is not something I want to be doing for the rest of my life - I work better independently and thoroughly enjoy the work I do when I'm being creative, whether it's through writing, photo or video. I want to enjoy what I do, and not that I don't enjoy teaching, but I just don't see it as a career move right now. I'm really lucky to have the opportunity to live and work in Europe, and I'm glad that I'm over here now because there's definitely a possibility that I'll come back in the future - just not to teach. I'm really happy that I applied to those grad programs in Toronto for next September, and I feel like even if I don't get in, then at least I know that I've got options and a field that I'm genuinely interested in. More thoughts on life to come.

I've emailed a couple of French mags and blogs who do some work in English (and I think could really benefit from someone who isn't French..) about doing some work for them...so we'll see what happens.

Other than that, here are some random thoughts:

1 - When the French have sales, they don't fuck around. Les Soldes are on for the next 3 weeks.

2 - I need to get out of my man pattern - apparently I can find them all over the globe, not just in America.

3 - French firemen are hot.

4 - I like drinking in the streets and watching bboys more than I like hanging out at clubs and watching guidos. True story.

My Buda & Pest pictures are up on fessebook.

Bonne annee! xx

24.12.07

Thoughts on Le Vernis #219 by Chanel

I always hated black nail polish. Like, HATED. I thought it looked nasty and tacky when chipped, and I'm slightly OCD about my nails and details in general so I never went near it. Last summer, while in Toronto with Abi and Val, I decided to get a black manipedi. I don't know why, or how, but I do know that it took a good hour of pondering over the colour before I finally gave the lady the go-ahead to start. And I loved it! The deep burgundys I save for winter have been pushed to the side because since getting to Paris I splurged on Chanel's #219 and my life has forever changed. I just thought I'd let someone know. Les Parisiennes aren't diggin colour splashes at the moment, and someone told me this winter is all about 'tristesse', so I figure I'm reppin thoroughly with black polish, even if gold and silver lamé are part of my daily wardrobe. Don't hate.

Other than that..it's the holidays and I kind of wish I was at home. I miss my people and my family. I don't really feel any holidaze here cause it's non-existent. It's the 24th and I've been having a dance party in booty shorts all morning. I'm invited to two holiday dinner parties but I might skip out on tonight's to finish up my grad school apps. Exciting, innit?

Gabe and Val visited last month and I'm ANXIOUSLY awaiting everyone else's arrival. As much as I like importing people, I've managed to gather some other expats here and they're awesome. My inexplicable luck with men who are spoken for continued last week with an awkward showdown between the gf and I at some wack theme bar - I had no idea and he wasn't making an effort to get that info to me. Besides, I was just talking and he totally wasn't my type. Anyway, I've managed to meet des mecs who a) aren't attached, b) don't suck, and c) aren't hella Euro (you know what I mean...techno-tight clothes-big belts-yickyickyickyick) and so my little harem is growing. They're a crew of writers who are helping me integrate into the side of Paris I'd have only seen from the train, so that's pretty dope. I have to admit, my people skills are getting better day by day.

I'm kind of lazy to start recounting specific stories and this things isn't letting me upload photos. I'm going to Budapest on the 30th for a week to see Souni and Lauren, so I should have plenty to say then..

a plus.